Here are some of the worst rooms for rent in NYC
  • The asking rents for these rooms (if you can call them rooms)are insane....but this is what things have come to.

http://theworstroom.tumblr.com/

• I work in the part of the industry that is governed by HUD Fair Market Rents. Basically, HUD states how much it is willing to pay for a unit based market conditions. The rate is not designed to pay for "nice" units, merely ones that can meet the quality and habitability standards.

Efficiency $1,183

One-Bedroom $1,280

Two-Bedroom $1,424

Three-Bedroom $1,752

Four-Bedroom $1,970

The only places we obtain for these rates are really far from Manhattan and/or in a state of bad repair and/or are in really violent neighborhoods.

However, I know that if HUD were to increase the rates, it would make the disparity between what they pay to house poor/disabled people in NYC vs the rest of the country even greater, which will be politically and financially untenable.

Needless to say, this same funding could get you a really nice apartment in many parts of the country. In those parts, the HUD FMR funds available are far less, but you still end up with a nicer unit....

• These rooms are what you end up with when you don't make enough money to get a decent place. Move back with the parents. It's probably less embarrassing.

• I'm imagining myself as a twenty something, and trying to think which option would inhibit the chances of getting sex the most:

These rooms, OR living with my parents?

It is a tough call.

• When I first moved to the city 10 yrs ago I had a room that just fit a twin bed and a desk, no windows. I paid $850/mo for it but it was in Soho.

The tent in Greenpoint doesn't look so bad for $400.

• @Whynot---Live with the parents, find a motel with short stay rates.

• If I am ever twenty something again, I will take your advice.