South Brooklyn Youth Gangs: 1950-1965 - Brooklynian

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

South Brooklyn Youth Gangs: 1950-1965

Hello: I'm writing a non-fiction book about the youth gangs that existed in the South Brooklyn area, focusing on the 1950s and early 1960s. Were you, or someone you know, a member of the Jokers, South Brooklyn Boys, the Butler Gents, the Gowanus Stompers, Red Hook Tigers, Kane Street Midgets or any of the other numerous local teen gangs? Or perhaps you grew up in the area and have some stories/information to share? Above all else, I'm simply looking to depict that era in South Brooklyn as it truly was, and what it was like to be a young person from the neighborhood in those days. I'm currently a resident of the area, but I know full well how much the neighborhood has changed. I'd like to document this part of its unique history.

This is very much a real book, and not a self-published vanity project. I would gratefully acknowledge within the pages of the published edition anyone who has a story to share, or even just some details that need filling in. I'm available at southbrooklyntales@yahoo.com, and would of course be happy to communicate via phone or in person if you'd like. Regardless, thank you for your time.

Warmest regards,
Richard

Comments