Starlight Lounge on Nostrand
  • Anyone ever go there? I went last summer for the $3 gin and grapefruit but I think it is a gay bar.
  • Yes, the Starlight is a gay bar, and bills itself as "the oldest black-owned non-discriminating bar" in HX magazine.
  • Good to know. What magazine is that?
  • Subject: are you sure?

Jack Krohn wrote: Yes, the Starlight is a gay bar, and bills itself as "the oldest black-owned non-discriminating bar" in HX magazine.

now granted i am somewhat new to the NY gay scene, but there are 2 places called Starlight. Starlight in the east village is a gay bar. I can't imagine Starlight in CH/Bed Stuy being a gay bar too.

and if it is, well hallelujiah, my people, here i come!
  • Subject: i stand corrected

hot damn.
  • There is a good bar on Bedford near St Marks called Brooklyn Exposure. Last time I went there was a live band. Anybody ever go there?

*Not a gay bar
  • jayce,

It's true. Starlight Lounge, on Nostrand Avenue, is a gay bar. I've never been there, but it is definitely listed in HX. I also have a friend who has lived in Crown Heights since 1970 and he, too, said that the Starlight is a gay bar.
  • Subject: yeah, i saw

Jack Krohn wrote: jayce,

It's true. Starlight Lounge, on Nostrand Avenue, is a gay bar. I've never been there, but it is definitely listed in HX. I also have a friend who has lived in Crown Heights since 1970 and he, too, said that the Starlight is a gay bar.

it didnt come up at first because its actually spelled "Starlite" but you guys are right... its a gay bar. how exciting.
  • Is the Starlight ever open? Every time I walk by there, it seems to be closed. I have been allured by the old-school sign, though. Anyone ever been to Larry's Liquid Love? It's on Bedford and Putnam. Looks so scandalous.