• I am a Historic Preservation graduate student at Pratt Institute where I am taking a Neighborhood Planning and Historic Preservation Studio focused on Brooklyn Community District 8 [roughly from Flatbush to Ralph, and Eastern Parkway to Atlantic].

At this point in the semester, we are creating a community plan based on our research over the last few months. My current assignment is to determine the viability of rehabilitating the Kingston Lounge for re-use. As you may know, it's an old jazz club located on Bergen Street. It has been closed since the 80s and has since fallen into disrepair.

You can see some photos of the current conditions and read a little more about it here:
    http://kingstonlounge.blogspot.com/2008/04/kingston-lounge-wine-dine-restaurant.html

The building is located within the boundaries of the Crown Heights North historic district and is built above its FAR, so it is extremely unlikely that it would be torn down. However, it has been vacant since 2001 and a string of owners have sat on the property for years.

The current mortgage on the building is for $499,000. It's assessed market value for 09/10 is $683,000. The commercial space is 1517 sq. ft., while the three upstairs apartments comprise another 4129 sq. ft.

I'm interested in hearing from community residents with ideas about how this space could be used and who could implement such a project. Do you think there is a market for it to return to its original use as a jazz club? Do you have any sense of how much it would cost to rehabilitate a space like this? Do you know of projects similar in scope and size? Do you know of any people who would be interested in a project like this?

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Best,

Tara Kelly
    MS Candidate, Historic Preservation
    Pratt Institute '09