why are the American poor refused to do jobs that are there? — Brooklynian

why are the American poor refused to do jobs that are there?

America still needs tons of agriculture workers. from picking apples to picking what ever... tons of stuff are rotting in the fields right now.

So much illegal labor has been deported under the current regime.

Comments

• Any idea which "regime" that might be?

• its under the current two party elephant and donkey regimes.

• Hey Armchair. Is English not your first language ?

• i wasn't born here and i'm mostly self taught.

• Electing neither the donkeys nor the elephants might stop deportation.

Alternatively, we could decimate the social welfare "safety net" to make almost starvation the consequence for unemployment.

Likewise, wages could be increased to just below the rate that would make such employers unprofitable.

The labor market has only so many forces....

• whynot The labor market has only so many forces....

This may all be, but I get the sense from past similar issues that AW wanted to take this time to point out the supposed spoiled, lazy attitude of Americans. I don't get the sense he will respond to discussions regarding the reasons the average unemployed American family isn't packing up their family to become migrant farm workers.

Back breaking work for little to no pay and no health insurance as well as losing your home while you're on the road picking fruit seems to be a reasonable alternative to unemployment to AW. I suspect bringing up the reasons why, by not choosing to do this, the unemployed should not be viewed as lazy, would cause AW to simply accuse one of being, what was it, one of boygabriel's acolytes?

• First I will digress and state that acolyte is a less loaded term than comrade.

Now, I will return to the subjects you address and concur.

• stooges or clones, not acolyte just too religious of a term for my taste.